Skip to content

Happy (Plus/Minus Three Days, Post) Thanksgiving!

November 30, 2008

Just back from our Thanksgiving trip to the Midwest to see our respective families.

Thanksgiving-Brownscombe.PNG

Somehow we found ourselves sans the Internet. (Don’t ask it’s a medium length story; so we had to improvise.) Our family and friends quickly tired of our requests for the use of their computer to check email, etc, etc (especially in the middle of Thanksgiving dinner), so we got the message, dropped that habit and the next day went elsewhere for our Internet fix. 

Luckily I was in the mood for sampling various coffee concoctions, because just showing up at Starbucks to read one’s email doesn’t go over that well. Over the course of a few days it seems we dropped in on many different brands of coffeehouses, laptop in tow, in order to savor their “coffee du jour.”

But we’re back home again with our own Internet connection so am finally able to wish everyone a belated, but most Happy Thanksgiving!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 10:28 am

    This made me chuckle as I’ve always had problems with not being connected to the rest of the world. Back in the mid’ ‘90s I suffered derision and scorn when I said I just ‘had’ to take my mobile phone and lap top to New Zealand, and I used to get odd looks for typing stuff into my Psion 3A (a wonderful creation that has a place in my heart) while on planes.

    These days it’s perfectly normal to sit on a train or in a café with a laptop or smart phone. Now all that is left for me to do is grumble at hotel staff when they don’t give Wi-Fi for free. 😉

Leave a Reply

