Skip to content

Valentine’s Day “Special.”

February 14, 2009

Roget in Love 

What happens when there are too many ways to say “I love you.”

By Hart Seely  (http://www.slate.com/)

Love defined.It was a mistake, a gaffe, an error, plummeting in on Merriam that day. When she looked at me with those big brown organs of vision, I felt myself omit a cardio pulsation. “Well, well, if it isn’t Mr. Thesaurus, Peter Roget,” she said. “Look what the Felis silvestris catus just imported.

Merriam had a way with units of language.

“I’ve come to talk, speak, communicate, converse, correspond,” I said. 

“Peter,” she interrupted, “I don’t have time to masticate the obesity. Excrete, or remove yourself from the cookery.”

“Very well. I won’t thrash around the foliage. I apologize if I urinated you off.

I’ve come to request your unclenched fist in holy matrimony.”

Read more at:

What happens when there are too many ways to say “I love you.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

